My apologies. Between ceremonies, events, meetings, showings, lectures, crits, errands, basic needs and family, life has me living upside down and travelling at the speed of a light (a speed which I’m not 100% comfortable with). I promise I’m trying to keep up with one post a day, but the truth is I’m in my last two whirlwind weeks of the semester, and I may miss a day or two here and there.

Undeniably, winter has finally hit home (it’s surprisingly late this year). And with the snow and chill in the air (and eggnog in the stores), it has started to feel like Christmas!

I watched Elf today on TV, which has to be one of my favorite Christmas movies. It still makes me laugh! I saw Christmas trees being set up for sale in a parking lot a few weeks ago. I downloaded some silly Christmas Workshop game on my iPhone today, too. The radio stations have started to play Christmas music and the neighbors have put up their lights! There’s no doubt about it, Christmas is coming! And one of my favorite things about Christmas, is the decorations.  Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of bad decorations, but for the sake of this post, let’s be positive. :) Paper snowflakes have got to be one of the best ways to decorate. I have been fascinated by them all my life. When I worked with kids, every winter, we’d do a paper-snowflake-making workshop and the kids would go nuts! And while I don’t have time to make any myself right now, I thought maybe I could dress up my blog with a few!

These ones are made of tissue paper! I think that would make for a pretty neat effect, hanging in the window so the light could really come through them. And speaking of possible alternative materials… I have to say, while I don’t have the patience or eyeballs to make these, gosh I would really die for a set of beautiful crocheted snowflakes.

Just like real snowflakes, they’re so delicate and beautiful. I especially love the color of the one above.

I love knitting lace, but I don’t think I could crochet like this. I think I’ll just admire them from a far, for fear my eyes will fall out if I try. To be honest, I think I have more appreciation for crocheted and paper-cut snowflakes than I do for the real stuff. It always makes too much of a mess of the roads, if you know what I mean!

The red ones are from here – look they even wrap presents with them!

