I was flipping through a couple Frame magazines today, looking for some inspiration for massing of my retail displays (yep, still working that out), and I came across a photo of this wonderfully beautiful ceiling. Oh. My. I lost it. Right there on the floor in the middle of the library. I’m in awe. Check this out:

Ahhhhhhhhhhh! Right?! I can’t tell you how often I think to myself about how disappointed I am that the level of craft involved in so many of our interior and architectural gestures is discounted these days. The lack of quality is severe. I see old buildings, and the care and attention that has been invested in the ornamentation of every single feature… it blows my mind. Sometimes I curse minimalism, because I often feel like it’s the reason for lost sincerity and detail. Then I find things like this.

Right down to the shadows cast on tables, and how perfectly the ceiling has been lit (with LEDs!)… you know this was so tactfully considered. Utterly brilliant. I’m in love, I’m in love, I’m in love!

The challenge was to break the preconceived ideas that make up the elements of an interior, by governing the space into “one coordinated element” through the creation of a seamless border.

Architecture News

All I have to say in closing, is that I’m jealous they got to design a restaurant in a space with no supporting columns whatsoever. Goodness knows the ones in my current restaurant project are driving me mad.

This is the Beijing Noodle No. 9 restaurant in Las Vegas, designed by Design Spirits. I want to go.

